Latest News - Awards

Monday, April 10, 2017 | Awards

Announcing the 2017 AOA Award winners

The winners of the AOA annual awards will be recognized at the 2017 Optometry's Meeting Opening General Session, Wednesday, June 21 at 5:30 pm, in Washington, D.C. Sponsored by Johnson & Jo…

Read the full story

Wednesday, April 05, 2017 | Awards, Prevent Blindness

Call for Nominations for the 2017 "Bonnie Strickland Champion for Children’s Vision Award"

The National Center for Children’s Vision and Eye Health at Prevent Blindness has issued the call for nominations for the third annual “Bonnie Strickland Champion for Children’s Visi…

Read the full story

Monday, March 06, 2017 | Awards, Essilor

Essilor Announces Finalists in 'See Change' Challenge to Improve Access to Vision Care in Underserved Populations

Essilor and NineSigma announced that three innovators have been chosen to move to the final phase in the Essilor See Change Challenge. The purpose of this worldwide initiative is to discover solutions…

Read the full story

Thursday, February 16, 2017 | Awards

ASCRS Announces 2017 Ophthalmology Hall of Fame Inductees

The American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery (ASCRS) has announced that it will induct Gullapalli N. Rao, MD, and the late Karl Koller, MD, into the ASCRS Ophthalmology Hall of Fame on Satu…

Read the full story

Wednesday, February 15, 2017 | Awards

Himalayan Cataract Project Semifinalist for $100 Million Grant

The Himalayan Cataract Project is one of eight groups named as semifinalists in "100&Change," a global competition for a single $100 million grant from the John D. and Catherine T. MacAr…

Read the full story

Wednesday, February 15, 2017 | Awards, CooperVision

CooperVision Names 2017 Best Practices Honorees

CooperVision has recognized 10 US eye care practices that have provided "exceptional, inspirational patient care" as part of the 2017 Best Practices honorees. All US optometry practices curr…

Read the full story

Thursday, January 19, 2017 | Awards, Conferences, Envision

Mark Humayun, MD, PhD, 2015 Presidential Honoree for Technological Innovation, Named Keynote Speaker for Envision Conference 2017

Envision announced that Mark S. Humayun, MD, PhD, a Los Angeles-based ophthalmologist, engineer, professor, scientist, and inventor who was named a 2015 recipient of the National Medal of Technology a…

Read the full story

Thursday, January 19, 2017 | Awards

VSY Biotechnology Wins Award for Innovation

VSY Biotechnology won the InovaLIG 2016 award, given to the most reputable and prestigious business organization in Turkey. The award was presented by the collaboration of Turkish Economy Ministr…

Read the full story

Tuesday, January 17, 2017 | Awards

Surgiorithm wins LaunchTN for Ophthalmology Patient Tracking Technology

Surgiorithm, a Nashville, Tennessee-based start-up that helps surgeons increase revenue by capturing patient opportunities, won the $5,000 prize available from the Waller law firm during the “Ve…

Read the full story

Tuesday, January 10, 2017 | Awards

Biosyntrx Recognizes Audrey Talley Rostov, Northwest Eye Surgeons

Biosyntrx has announced that the company will present Audrey Talley Rostov, MD, a partner at Northwest Eye Surgeons, the third annual Biosyntrx Thornton Humanitarian Award at the 2017 Royal Hawai…

Read the full story

Monday, January 09, 2017 | Awards, EyeTech Care SA

Eye Tech Care Wins Top Honors from Frost & Sullivan for Developing the EyeOP1 Computer-Assisted System for Glaucoma Therapy

Based on its recent analysis of the glaucoma therapy market, Frost & Sullivan recognized Eye Tech Care with the 2016 Europe Frost & Sullivan Award for Technology Innovation for the development…

Read the full story

Wednesday, January 04, 2017 | Awards, Prevent Blindness

Prevent Blindness Announces Call for Applications for the 2017 Joanne Angle Investigator Award

Prevent Blindness is announcing the call for applications for its 2017 Joanne Angle Investigator Award, which is a grant provided annually to a public health research project that seeks to put an end …

Read the full story

Tuesday, December 13, 2016 | Awards

Mark Humayun, MD, PhD, Elected a 2016 Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors

Today the National Academy of Inventors (NAI) announced Mark S. Humayun, MD, PhD, co-director of the University of Southern California (USC) Roski Eye Institute and director of the USC Institute for B…

Read the full story

Wednesday, December 07, 2016 | Awards

The American Optometric Foundation Announces The 2016 VSP Global Scholarship Recipients

The American Optometric Foundation (AOF), an affiliate of the American Academy of Optometry (AAO), and VSP Global announced the recipients of this year’s Practice Excellence Scholarships. Nearly…

Read the full story

Tuesday, December 06, 2016 | Awards

Cornea Society Honors Jonathan Lass, MD, with the Prominent Castroviejo Medal

The Cornea Society has awarded its highest honor, the Castroviejo Medal, to Jonathan H. Lass, MD. Dr. Lass is the Charles I Thomas Professor of Ophthalmology at Case Western Reserve University (CWRU) …

Read the full story
Load More